Deprecated: Optional parameter $content declared before required parameter $tag is implicitly treated as a required parameter in /home/aascu/staging/wp-content/themes/fr-starter-theme-2022/app/Shortcodes/CtaButton/Cta.php on line 35
Civic Engagement Awards - AASCU

Civic Engagement Awards

AASCU’s American Democracy Project recognizes individual leadership at the provost, faculty, and staff levels in civic engagement on AASCU member campuses.

It is our honor to shine a light on the great work being done on AASCU ADP campuses. 

Our work to equip students with the knowledge, skills, and experiences to be informed and engaged, ready to tackle current and future issues to ensure a thriving and equitable democracy is more important than ever. The American Democracy Project recognizes leadership in civic engagement on AASCU member campuses through awards presented at the Civic Learning and Democratic Engagement (CLDE) conference in June. 

Honoring Individuals

Barbara Burch Award

in recognition of exemplary faculty leadership.

Learn more.

William M. Plater Award

in recognition of exemplary leadership by a chief academic officer.

Learn more.

John Saltmarsh Award

in recognition of exemplary early-career leaders.

Learn more.

Spirit of Democracy Award

in recognition of exemplary staff leadership.

Learn more.
Honoring Institutions

We the People Award

One of AASCU’s Excellence & Innovation Awards, given to recognize institutional team commitment to meaningful and deep civic engagement work. 

Learn more.