Deprecated: Optional parameter $content declared before required parameter $tag is implicitly treated as a required parameter in /home/aascu/staging/wp-content/themes/fr-starter-theme-2022/app/Shortcodes/CtaButton/Cta.php on line 35
Teachers in Today's Challenging Context - AASCU
February 2, 2017

Teachers in Today’s Challenging Context: Key Issues, Policy Directions and Implications for Leaders of AASCU Universities

AASCU Task Force on Teacher Education

Teacher preparation is at the core of most public universities’ missions, providing a vital
function in pursuit of states’ ambitions for an educated and engaged populace.

AASCU’s 2016 Task Force on Teacher Education assessed the state of teacher education at member institutions, identified pockets of innovation and success in the field, and highlighted the vital role of presidents and provosts in strengthening and supporting the effectiveness of their programs for an increasingly diverse P-12 student body.

The report drew on task force members’ insights and results from a survey of AASCU presidents, provosts and education deans.

2016 AASCU Teacher Education Task Force
Virginia S. Horvath, Chair President State University of New York at Fredonia
Richard A. Caulfield, Co-chair Chancellor University of Alaska Southeast
Joseph A. Aguerrebere Director of Teacher Education and Public School Programs California State University Chancellor’s Office
Ira Jo Blake Provost and Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs Bloomsburg University of
Carol Burris Executive Director Network for Public Fund
Jenny DeMonte Senior Technical Assistance Consultant American Institutes for Research
Jane McBride Gates Provost and Senior Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs Connecticut State Colleges & Universities System
Marquita Grenot-Scheyer Assistant Vice Chancellor for Teacher Education & Public School Programs California State University System
Katy Heyning, Dean, College of Education and Professional Studies University of Wisconsin, Whitewater
Elizabeth R. Hinde Professor and Founding Dean, School of Education Metropolitan State University of Denver
Tamara Lucas Dean, College of Education and Human Services Montclair State University
Linda McKee Senior Director for Performance Measurement and Assessment American Association
of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE)
Francisco Rios Dean, Woodring College of Education Western Washington University
Kimberly Tobey Executive Director National Association of Community College Teacher Education Programs (NACCTEP)