Award-winning journalist Soledad O'Brien speaks during the Opening Session. Graphic recorder Jim Nuttles created incredible works of art during several of the sessions at the Annual

Meeting.

From left: Ana Navarro, political strategist and commentator; AASCU President Mildred García; Donna Brazile, veteran Democratic political strategist and former interim chair, Democratic National Committee; and Tomás D. Morales, president, California State University, San Bernardino.

HIGHER EDUCATION LEADERS Gather at annual meeting

ver 280 presidents and chancellors, their spouses/partners, and other higher education leaders flocked to Washington, D.C., in October for AASCU's Annual Meeting. This year's theme, "Championing State Colleges and Universities: Our Role in Delivering America's Promise," focused on the commitment of public higher education institutions to access, opportunity, quality and affordability. With the ever-changing public perception of higher education, and the perpetual question of the value of a college degree, attendees gathered to define and advance their collective mission to deliver America's promise of opportunity for all.

The meeting featured an opening session with award-winning journalist Soledad O'Brien, an overview with political strategists on what the midterm elections could mean for higher education, awards that recognized cutting-edge public higher education programs (see pages 17-19 for more information) and a distinguished alumna (see page 33 to learn more), a 20th anniversary celebration for the Millennium Leadership Initiative professional development program, professional consultations, a closing reception at the National Museum of African American History and Culture, and more. We're grateful to our attendees for their insight and participation, and we look forward to next year's Annual Meeting in Phoenix, Az.

The passing of the gavel: From left, AASCU President, Mildred García; F. Javier Cevallos, president, Framingham State University (Mass.) and 2019 chair of the AASCU Board of Directors; and Dana Hoyt, president, Sam Houston State University (Texas) and 2018 chair, AASCU Board of Directors. ►

AASCU honored nine outstanding member institutions with the 2018 Excellence & Innovation Awards. ►

From Left: TIAA CEO, Roger Ferguson, speaks with Deborah Stanley, president, State University of New York at Oswego, on a wide range of topics at the Annual Meeting, from the value of higher education to the current state of the economy. TIAA, established by Andrew Carnegie in 1918 to support the retirement of educators, celebrated its 100th year in 2018. 🕨

From left: Rodney K. Rogers, president, Bowling Green State University (Ohio); Brenda J. Hollis, AASCU's 2018 Distinguished Alumnus Award recipient; and Dana Hoyt, president, Sam Houston State University (Texas) and 2018 chair, AASCU Board of Directors. ▼ Gerardo Díaz Bartolomé, Minister, Head of Political Affairs, Embassy of the Argentina Republic, spoke about international programs and partnerships during the Academic Search, Inc. luncheon on Monday, Oct 29. ▼

Dana

← From left: AASCU's 2018 President-to-Presidents Lecture Luncheon speaker, David Eisler, president, Ferris State University (Mich.), shakes hands with his friend and colleague, George Mehaffy, AASCU's vice president for academic leadership and change.